h1

Intro to Making Wedding Dress Appointments in NYC

April 25, 2008

Lenore the Cute Little Dead Girl Needs a Hug

(How I felt right before the Wedding Dress Weekend while making appointments.)

So, after I had scheduled for two of my bridesmaids and my “other mother” to come into the city for the first real round of wedding dress shopping, I figured it was time to gather the numbers of the places I was interested in going and making my appointments. I was extremely excited.

So, I called Kleinfeld first, which was my first choice and for which I had the greatest expectations. It is supposedly the largest bridal gown emporium ever, so I was very excited about this. So, I picked up the phone, dialed out the number and get a menu…”Press 1 to make an appointment” and so on. OK, alright, I thought to myself, it is a large store, this is fine.

(Kleinfeld storefront)

But when she answered the phone it was a whole other story. I had a couple of days and times in mind for the appointment, since I knew which weekend. This was several weeks in advance, so I thought I’d be alright. The representative informed me that none of my times were available and that in order to book my appointment, I would need to provide my credit card information (they charge you $50 for a missed appointment.) At that point, I was kind of turned off, by the factory feeling it gave me, so I declined to provide my information and hung up the phone. I figured that I could always call back if I really wanted to.

(Bergdorf Goodman storefront)

Pressing on, I called Bergdorf Goodman for an appointment. I was required to leave a voicemail so that a bridal salon representative could call me back. I left six messages and got zero calls back. Saks was a similar situation, except that they were just booked that weekend (as well as the Thursday and Friday before and the Monday and Tuesday after!!)

Alright, so we’re three for three in the wrong direction.

At this point, I didn’t even think about calling Carolina Herrera, simply because a dress there would be out of my range and it was supposed to be a fun visit – to try on some fantasy dresses as well as real prospects.

I took a breath, then searched online for places to go…and quickly became overwhelmed, as I mentioned in the last post. My sweetie was no help – he kept telling me things would work out – obviously he had forgotten momentarily what it’s like to deal with me when I’m stressed.

So, frustrated, I emailed Emily and Melissa saying that if they thought I should wear a wedding dress – or anything at all at the wedding – they had better send me a list of places because I was done (and we hadn’t even started yet!)

Melissa sent me a list of ideas on things to check – like sample sales, trunk shows, and gave me some ideas. Emily sent me a list of two or three places with their websites included so I could check it out. It was a virtual hug when I needed it most, just like Lenore the Cute Little Dead Girl (image above.)

I think they weren’t about to let me sabotage my own wedding attire with my freak out – they are both very well aware of how I deal with certain stresses, so they know how and when to take the reigns in their own way.

The list I got from Emily turned out to be one of the best places and worst places we could have gone and I love her bunches for it.

XOXO
M, J, and S

5 comments

  1. Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

    Aaron Wakling


  2. Oh man..I completely feel you on this subject!! I had nightmares about my wedding dress all throughout last night and woke up in a cold sweat this morning…this stuff is stessful! But I do have complete faith it will all be worth it in the end! 😉


  3. I know — I have nightmares weekly about the dress, the wedding, and everything involved!


  4. When you are finally standing next to your sweetie on your wedding day, looking absolutely beautiful, like a princess, you will look back at all this frustration and laugh and cry about it all. It certainly is stressful, but worthwhile, believe me. Melissa–try to relax and focus on the end result, don’t get lost in the moment of all the chaos–it will all work out, I promise!!


  5. That was such a nice trip! (besides the tummy drama =)) I know we couldn’t have been to one as nice or one as bad!! =)



Leave a Reply

