h1

It’s About Time for a Wedding Dress Weekend…in NYC

April 24, 2008

gowns from theknot.com


Now that we had become engaged, it was time to start planning the wedding, thinking about the dress, and all that good stuff. So much planning goes into a wedding that you make list upon list and then start to think that you might need a list of your lists. So I thought I would start simple – finding the a dress.

Now I know I had already mentioned that I had seen a wedding dress on television that I simply adored – that little Monique Lhuillier number. But, at the time, I had no idea how to even figure where I could even get that dress. So I made some plans with some of my best friends – Emily and Melissa – to come up and help me get started on the dress hunt. We made plans for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day weekend, so I gave my good friend, Donna, a call to make sure she could join us.

Donna is like another mother to me – ever since high school I’ve referred to her as my “other mother” so it was only fitting that she attend the first wedding dress shopping day, especially since my own mother was all the way down in Florida.

Anyway, a lot goes into preparing to even go look at dresses. And apparently, everywhere you would even consider in New York City requires an appointment. Even the David’s Bridal in Long Island needs an appointment! Can you imagine!?!?

So, I thought I would do a search for wedding dress shops in the city, you know, to make things simple. Go ahead, you try it. Put in “wedding dress in nyc” or “bridal gowns in new york city” and take a look at what seems like a million results! I knew I was in trouble.

I had narrowed it down to a couple including Kleinfeld, Carolina Herrera, Saks Fifth Avenue, and Bergdorf Goodman. These places all seemed ideal.

Kleinfeld, the largest wedding dress shop in Manhattan (and the most famous), was at the top of the list simply because it showed the most selection and range in pricing. So I thought we’d start there. Then my friends and I decided we should go to a place or two that’s out of reach, but for pure fun, so that’s where Carolina Herrera and Bergdorf came in. Not that I could afford a Carolina Herrera wedding dress, but I sure as Hell would have fun trying one on and pretending! Saks was a safety net, since I knew they’d have a selection in styles, designers, and prices.

All I had to do was pick up the phone and make the appointment…More about all that later.

Until then!

XOXO
M, J, and S

2 comments

  1. Have fun on your shopping tour….I’m sure you’ll get more and more confused, but all of a sudden you’ll say “THAT’S THE ONE” and it’s going to be lovely. Have Fun.. Aunt Bet


  2. Tell me about it. I also recently got engaged and am planning a New York Wedding. I am on the Island though not in Manhattan. I was shocked to see how much the wedding gowns were and I was not looking at any fancy designer names. I finally found my dress by Anjolique and ordered it last month. Thank goodness my grandmother is paying for the dress and all of it’s trimmings. I would not have had enough funds in my budget to do it.

    The lists help, especially if one of them is your budget. I think that having your budget written down for you to reference when you are shopping will help you not to over spend. I strongly recommend all engaged couples use this tool.

    Good luck with the rest of your planning. I just booked my DJ and Photographer/videographer last night and was again shocked at the prices. I guess I was remembering my sisters wedding not realizing it was 10 years ago. A lot has changed since then.



Leave a Reply

