h1

Happy Birthday to the Bridesmaid Emily!

February 22, 2008

Happy Birthday to Bridesmaid Emily!

As it so happens, one of my oldest friends in the whole wide world is having a birthday today (a day right after my Nana!) and she also happens to be one of my very special bridesmaids. I have known Emily since the first day of freshman year of high school, which was a very long time ago…when you actually do the math and figure out just HOW OLD Emily turned today!

Ha ha ha. I had to do it. Happy Birthday! ¡Feliz Cumpleaños!

Em & M 1996

Anyway, Emily and I met the first day of high school and we were not what you call “fast friends”. In fact, we were at lunch and she spilled a Coke all over my pants and I simply did not respond well to that. We eventually became friends later that year, probably over a mutual hate of Spanish class; and it’s a good thing too, because for the next three years of high school we were destined to have almost every class together.

We went through high school, I taught Emily to drive (and with her record it’s pretty obvious that I did), countless concerts and shows, several [hundred] nights with the parents out of town and high school drinking escapades (that’s a whole other blog…), nervous breakdowns, emotional whirlwinds, Amnesty concerts and car washes, driving across open fields off of I-95 in Jupiter, car accidents, My So-Called Life (it was OUR life), college escapades, boyfriends and girlfriends, brothers and sisters, parents, engagements, weddings, losses, and everything else in between. I can honestly say that Em is not only one of my oldest friends, but probably the best one there is.

Emily also happens to be Mommy to Meya (my surrogate niece – I am Auntie to her) and wife to Jeremy (who has grown to be part of my extended family as well) but she will always just be Emily to me.

We hope you have a very happy birthday, Emily! We love you lots!

XOXO
M, J, and S

P.S. Oh, there WILL be a picture up here…I just wanted to get this up before your birthday ended!

One comment

  1. This made me cry. =) I love you too!

    em



Leave a Reply

