h1

The Engagement Dress

January 30, 2008

The past few days have been especially busy for me. I’ve been swamped with work and my sweetie has been out in Los Angeles for work, so I have had my mind on plenty of other things!

So, getting back to our story…

As all this research, considering, and planning was being done (to get that gorgeous ring on my finger), I had to make a trip to Gainesville, Florida for business. My uber-cool hip friend, Melissa (who will get the “uber” reference, I hope), and I were in the local mall searching for the perfect outfit for Melissa’s upcoming (at the time) appearance on television (yes, she is also very famous). During this trip I was shocked at how the Gainesville mall has transformed over the years – there is a Coach store, people!!

So we happened into the Banana Republic, and the first thing I hear, let alone see, is Melissa pointing and yelling at the top of her lungs, “You should get married in THAT dress!!!!” (Ok, so maybe she wasn’t yelling at the top of her lungs – she has taught me much about the art of embellishment…)

So I, and about ten other people, turned to where she was pointing and saw the cutest dress ever. We’ve coined it “The Engagement Dress” since it is so fabulous. Here it is:

Engagement Dress Engagement Dress - back

It’s silvery grey, beaded, not too many sequins, sheer, very flapper, and was more than what I wanted to spend that day! It was our theory that I should buy this dress and WEAR IT EVERYDAY until my sweetie proposed, just so I would be wearing it when he popped the question.

The ring and the dress match perfectly! So Melissa and I fantasized, joked around, and I kept that dress in the back of my mind…

Oh, and Melissa got a cutie cute sweater there that day, and although I didn’t get to see her television debut, I bet it was fabulous!

Leave a Reply

